Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Green&Gold

Strikemaster muffler question

13 posts in this topic

I have a 2 horse Strikemaster Lazer. I recently noticed the muffler was loose and vibrating when I started up the auger. There are 2 bolts that screw into the housing of the auger head that hold the muffler on. Naturally I went about tightening these down. Well, I will sheepishly admit that I put a little too much torque on one and it broke off. crazy.gif I took the muffler off and sure enough the bolt broke off about a 16th of an inch inside the screw hole. The muffler will stay on with one bolt holding it on but I would like to try to fix this. Does anyone have a magical way of getting the broken off piece out so I could put a new bolt on?

I could take a few pictures if that would help anyone understand this problem better.

Drill it out and replace the bolt...

I'm not sure how I would go about doing that. I can't get at the backside of the screw hole, if you will. It just goes into the main part of the motor. Imagine like a solid concrete block with a screw hole bored into it about an inch. The broken piece of the bolt is lodged in there and it broke off just inside the opening.

They sell extractors for just such occasions. If you don't want to buy one, I would call up a garage or machine shop and see if they would take it out for a couple bucks.

1. Center punch the exact center of the broken off bolt

2. 1/8" drill, drill about a quarter inch deep into bolt, by measuring your broken off bolt to the good one you"ll know exactly how deep you can go.

3. With a small EZ out, tap (not hammer) EZ out into hole and turn ever so gentley to the left (counterclockwise) it should come out fairly easy.