• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Grouse around the metro

ZDavidMiller

Where would you say the closest area worth hunting around the metro area be. I am new to the sport and I believe I am not the only one interested in the answer. Thank you for your time and response.

I would have to say that I don't know of any area around the metro that would produce grouse. You have to at least drive 1-1.5 hours north to get into grouse country in my opinion. There are areas southeast near winona that have some good grouse hunting although I have never hunted in that area there are people I have talked to that have.

What is worth hunting? I have found the occasional grouse near Elk River while Pheasant hunting but wouldn't consider it a huntable population. There are areas around Mille Lacs that hold a fair number of birds, as does the woods north of Mora. I would say you need to get about 90 miles from the Metro to have a good chance at seeing multiple birds. I have heard that during up years St. Croix will have some, but I know that area gets hit pretty hard. Good luck.

there are okay nbr grouse up east of pine city to st croix river.. i havent went there for long time but last time i went there me and my dad shot 3 grouse up there..

Thank you all very much. They are a blast to hunt, and I would like to get out and do it again sometime soon. I am pretty new to this and am not sure how to go about it real well. Where would the best public area around Brainerd or the Mille Lacs area be? And what kind of cover are they in this time of year, or what should I look for and walk. Thank you all for your responses once again.