• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

is it legal?...

fasternu

I am just wondering if it is legal to put a portable stand on a power pole? I have been checking out an area where I have seen lots of deer, and was thinking about putting my portable on a power pole at the edge of a clearing. Who would be able to tell me if it is ok?

Call the power company.

I wanted to put woodduck houses on poles behind the house, and they allowed me to do that, as long as I only put them up as I as I could reach without using a ladder. Basically just stand on the ground to put them up.

I have a few places where I figured it was a good place to put up a climber but did not know if it was O.K.

I used to work as a power company as summer help and I seriously doubt they would allow you to put a stand on their poles. It just isn't really safe and some of the poles are older and have core rot even though they look good on the outside. If you tried to climb a pole like that it would break and hurt or possibly kill you. They usually don't even like their lineman to free climb unless they have no other way to get to the top of the pole.

Quote:

I am just wondering if it is legal to put a portable stand on a power pole? I have been checking out an area where I have seen lots of deer, and was thinking about putting my portable on a power pole at the edge of a clearing. Who would be able to tell me if it is ok?

I going to assume that this is a serious post.

It's a power pole. It is private property owned by the power company. We start with the legal part of it, say you fall off and injure yourself, you shoot someone, You get yourself fried on the pole.

[Note from admin: This post edited. Please read forum policy before posting again.]