• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

so i found a sweet little jumbo perch spot yesterday. had non-stop action for like 2 hours. i caught tons of them. the majority were around 10in. so not huge jumbos but still decent. we'll i keeped 6 for the fry pan. got home and thawed them out and cut them up. well i noticed that their meat was peppered with worms. which is strange cause they didnt have the black spots on them at all. they all looked very clean and healthy. anyway, it grossed me out and no way was i going to eat them. so more wasted fish. first it was my candied crappie experience, now wormmy perch. confused.gif. has anyone eaten fish with worms? im studying fisheries science, but we havent talked about diseases and pathogens too much. does any one know what these worms are and how fish become infected with them? ive also caught some SLAB gills on caribou that are just peppered with black spots on their heads and fins, however, their bodies look clean. all of these fish are still swimming. are worms a problem around the lakes up here?

Has anyone eaten fish with worms in them? Northlander, maybe you don't have the flu afterall wink.gif

I think I would try to find a different sweet spot. My Dad told me over 40 years ago not to eat perch because of worms, right or wrong I've never kept one yet.

Hey Gunflint,

We are going to be on Ducan and or Daniels this weekend. If your in the neighborhood, stop by. Our group runs on Channel 4.

i know perch are bad in the summer months, but i have eaten a bunch of jumbos before that were as clean as could be in the winter. as good as walleye. anyway, it was a total buzz killer. i now must search out a new hot spot.