Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

• RECEIVE THE GIFTS MEMBERS SHARE WITH YOU HERE...THEN...CREATE SOMETHING TO ENCHANT OTHERS THAT YOU WANT TO SHARE

You know what we all love...

When you enchant people, you fill them with delight and yourself in return. Have Fun!!!

I fished on the Root in and near Forestville today.I picked up 2 nice rainbows and a few little browns during midday.The one thing that was strange was that there were plenty of fish around but they would just flash at my lure and not hit it.I threw everything I had at them from jigs to raps to topwaters and poppers.Why do these fish do this?Are they territorial and trying to chase my offering away(like bass) or do they notice at the last second that it is an artificial?I'm new to this and would also like to know of any tricks to get them to actually bite.

Went to the Root (Forestvill) today had the same thing happen to me. I have been there 4 times this month and have not seen the trout act like that. The last few times I went fishing, I was catching them left and right.
I dont know what the problem was, could be the weather.

Ed

Jim W

Hey guys,

A couple things that first come to mind when you mention the trout flashing at your bait.
First, It could be related to the trout being caught before and the recent fishing pressure, making the trout a little more hesitant in taking your bait. Or, the trout is reacting instinctively to it's feeding mechanisms!

Many times over the years I've run into a flasher even on good days when the bite is strong. The trout are usually a fish that incorporates a high level of feeding instinct. SO what could be happeneng is these two factors.
The trout might already be full and is instinctively reacting to a flashing lure or presentation. "hey, there is something 'sexy' flashing over there, I better go check it out".