• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

rod building

uffdapete

Question

I am just getting started and would like to make a few rods for myself and maybe a few for Christmas presents. It will never be a business for me for several reasons.

My question is this - it would appear to me that the guides on most factory rods, especially lower-end rods, are not wrapped with thread or by hand as we know it.
How then are the guides put on the rods? Do they use some sort of a shrink-wrap that cures with heat or some other means?

And are those wraps available to the public?
What are the pros and cons of that type of wrap? The wrapping is one part of the process I am not good at, nor do I enjoy. There are definite limitations to what I do well with my hands and handwrapping beyond those limits.

Any help sincerely appreciated!

12 answers to this question

I don't know what others will say, but I would stay away from shrink wrap wraps. There is a reason those are used on cheap rods, like my daughter's Scooby Doobie Doo rod.

Wrapping with thread is hard to get down, but with a little practice it becomes pretty easy. I build rods only for myself, and I don't get into fancy wraps or anything like that. I've got two Avids and a GL3 that I'm working on now, and they will have black wraps only. I don't really care so much for the cosmetics of rods, I prefer to have them perform the way I want the to(not that special wraps would hinder performance).

Tight wraps wink.gif
-NotBLM

Are you referring to the clear looking stuff that holds the guide on? If it is that is called flex coat and is a 2 part epoxy.It is not hard to apply but takes about 8 hours to cure and the rod has to rotate while curing.This is what you are going to want to use if you are going to build a rod and tie the guides on with thread.