Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ChrisT

Considering a trip to Kabetogama mid-june

9 posts in this topic

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am looking to head to Kab in June. I would like to target Walleye and smallies. My main concern is the size of the lake. The largest lake I have fished was 3,200 acres. I have a 16' tracker w/50 hp and I am taking my wife. I am an experienced fisherman and would be OK with the wind, but I think my wife would freak with 2-4 foot rollers. Is this lake to big for me?

There are a lot of islands to hide behind but if the wind gets going it can get wavey. I have been enjoying the area for the past 23 years and loving every second of it. I would never hesitate to go up again and again. The if the only issue is the waves I would say give it a chance and pray for good weather.

Chris, This will be the 5th year for my wife and I. Yeah it is a big lake, but as Jeff said there are plenty of islands to get out of the waves. I have a 16' as well. I go from the 1st to mid June and can only remember once the waves getting bigger than 2 foot. Only issue is that is when the walleye fishing is best, fishing the windswept shorelines. If your onto fish, she'll be too busy to worry about the waves, none the less you can duck out of wind and go for Northern or Smallies if she starts to get a little sea sick. After 8 years, 3 in Canada and now the 5th on the Kab, my wife will not let me go by myself, she loves it as I am sure yours will too if she likes to fish.