• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Kab Questions

Hi all,

I am a new poster to this site and an advid fisherman located in Michigan. My primary fishing is trolling the great lakes for salmon and steelhead.

I have a few questions regarding Lake Kab. My wife and I are going to be treating my father to this trip and will be visiting one of the local lodges this June from the 23 thru the 30. We plan to target Walleye and Northerns.

I have several questions regarding equipment that I should have for this trip. First, I am runnning a Ray Marine 435I chartplotter. I would like to get a map chip for this lake, which one should I look for?

Although I am not a novice in fishing for Walleye, I have never fished this lake. What lures/baits should I have on board for this time of year? Is the local technique a jig bit or should I be set up for trolling (or both)? I am not looking for anyones secrets, just what and how I should set up the boat and what are some "don't leave home without them" baits and rigging.

Next, We plan on spending a day fishing the Rainey going thru Kettle Falls. Is there a schedule for the boat lift to get around the Dam? 2nd, would I be better off hiring a guide that day and would a guide fish my boat vs theirs? Is the trip from central Kab to Rainey worth the time or should I just plan that trip for another time?

I see that there is a lot of water in this chain that is Canadian water. Do I need the remote pass to enter Canada or is there a check point somewhere along the chain to enter Canadian waters? I read the Canada entry thread and there was not a lot listed there for this lake system.

I may have several other questions down the road and I thank you in advance of any help that you can share.

Mark

Team Fishdog