• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Drag or Back reel?

Bobby Bass

Drag or back reel? With the advancements in drags the past 10 to 15 years how many of you still or have some of you ever back reeled? Do you always just go with using your reels drag?

I have backreeled many a northern in on 4lb test. I have a hard time believing I would have landed these fish on a drag system.

Backreel till the cows come home!

Back Reel....Take the lock off right away and have landed many-a big fish back reeling. It's just habit for me. I've seen to many fish lost on a drag!

I am not a expert here.. But I can't beleive that I can out preform my shimano drag system by back reeling. I have only used the back reel few times for snags rather than opening the bail. I do own a few reels w/ a dual drag system w/ a lever that loosens and tightens the drag during the fight of a fish. I realy like that feature when it is needed.

I have always counted on my drag, I also have caught 26" Walleyes through the ice on 4 lb. test. and also 4 lb. test using the ultralight in the boat catching 19" inchers. I have tried to back reel, but, I could never get it to work right.

This exact topic was discussed in depth a while back. If you do a search I am sure you can find it.

Seemed most people had faith in their drag systems.

My luck with using the back reel technique usually ends up with a messy birds nest. So ya the reels drag and the rod flex for me too.

Drag, pulled a 13lb northern in on 4 lb line using drag. Also many big carp on walleye gear.

And it just sounds better.

Drag!!!

Plus, I prefer baitcasters in most situations...can't backreel one of them.

For me it really depends on what I am fishing for, and what I have for gear.. and what I have on the end of my line?