• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Tow vehicle

ikeslayer

Question

i am wondering if you guys have any idea what a great tow vehicle would be. I am a youth pastor at a church and usually take a gaggle of kids fishing at a time. only problem is that it is a tight fit in my f150. i have a mini van and you can pack kids and stuff in there like no other and still get 20 mpg. So what i am wondering is, is there a minivan out there that has a souped up tranny that can pull my crestliner and a full load of people? My wife isn't much for conversion vans or we would proably own one of those. I don't know what it is like to pull a boat out of a landing with one of these either.

Any help or ideas would be welcomed and appreciated

thanks

ike

10 answers to this question

F150 supercrew or how about a Ford Freestyle. The freestyle can seat up to 7 passengers. Just a thought.

How big (heavy) is your boat & trailer?

Be cautious, most front wheel drive mini-vans (and cars) have a limited towing capacity. Check the owner's manual - and read the fine print: almost all will decrease the van capacity when you tow the maximum trailer.

Your combination of wanting 20 mpg, plus carry 6 to 8 people plus tow your boat is something that is going to be hard to meet.

The only combination I know of to do all this is a Dodge or Freightliner Sprinter van, 2500, with a price tag of over $30,000 new.

Good luck in your ministry.