• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

How to charge batteries when lake is down?

carlcmc

Question

I have a Cabelas Prosport 3 battery onboard charger. When I take fishing trips, I leave my boat in the lake at the dock for the cabin and run an electrical cord along the dock to the boat to keep it charged over night.

The lake we are going to this year (North Long near Baxter) is down considerably. I may end up having the boat out a ways from shore line. Any ideas of keeping the batteries charged besides the tedious option of every evening carrying batteries and charger up to the garage to charge? Any way to run the cords (safely) through shallow water (or keep the connections points out of the water) to where the boat will be?

Thoughts?

I'm no electrician but I've seen plenty of resorts that run extension cords right through the water, plugs and connections and all.

If you run an extension anywhere near water make sure it's protected with a GFI. Assuming you use a decent extension cord with a good sheath and keep the connections dry you should be fine. If you're using a very long cord or multiple long cords you should consider steping up a guage (say use a 10ga cord instead of a 12ga).

#1 extension cords by water are dangerious!

#2 I believe running a ext. cord is illeagle for sure on public property,and a inspecter can ticket you on your own property for this,It does'nt meet code.they most likly dont look for it, but if reported they will.Also hope your insured just in case!

Quote:

#2 I believe running a ext. cord is illeagle for sure on public property,and a inspecter can ticket you on your own property for this,It does'nt meet code.they most likly dont look for it, but if reported they will.Also hope your insured just in case!