• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Tick season Frontline or Advantix?

settersit

With tick season looming, I was wondering everyones thoughts on what they preferred to use. Although I've been useing Frontline on my setter for several years, I'm less than impressed, it seems every 3 weeks is the norm instead of monthly. I still seem to have to pick off a few "wigglers" at that. Advantix says it is also a reppellant which Fronline is not. My vet says Frontline stays on better if your dog is in wet conditions. I'd like to hear some more feedback as I only have 1 vial left and need to reorder. As a sidenote, he also said he's been getting excellent results from the Lyme vacine, much better than when originally brought out. I fiqure, anything that can help protect your best hunting buddy is a plus, to many good dogs have lost years of hunting time on account of this disease.

We used Frontline for the first two seasons we had our labs and then tried K9-Advantix last year.

In my opinion it is six one way, half a dozen the other. Either product will do the trick.

The Advantix is supposed to have a mosquito repellant. I thought it would be a good idea to try it in hopes that I would work on horse & deer flies to since those nasty buggers seem to like picking on pups. I really didn't notice it having any effect on the flies.

We have black labs and as you can imagine it is tough to see ticks on them. Two years ago about a hour after I had applied Frontline to Oscar he was walking through the kitchen and I saw a tick drop off of him. I thought that was pretty impressive.