• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

New Fly fisherboy

mojoputter

My son who is 13 wants to start flyfishing, I fly fish myself but I am a beginner also, I have used my rod about 4 or 5 times so I am not real knowledgable about what kind of a set up to buy him. I don't want to spend alot of money but I don't want to go to cheap either, he may use it about 2 or 3 times and maybe not want to do it anymore, thats just the way he is sometimes.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

If your not sure that he will stick with it, go and get one of the cheaper starter kits.

Thats what I started on, and they work well enough.

just make sure the times you take him out fly fishing that he catches fish, if he doesnt he may be discouraged. even if there small trout, or even sunfish and bass off the dock, there fish on a fly rod. right? anyways as far as the fly rod and reel BassProShops has a whiteriver fly shops rod that i believe is called dogwood canyon. i started out with their 7' 4wt. for around $85 w/ shipping. oh yeah comes with backing aand a orange Weight-Forward floating fly line. good rod for the price.

I am 15 and have been flyfishing for about three years, i started with a cheaper combo and it works great. I have since upgraded but still use my cheap combo a lot.

Mojoputter

Good luck encouraging your son to acquire a new passion(or as my wife says "what??, another hobby?"). Cortland and Scientific Angler (a 3M company) put together some very nice Kits for starting someone out. The rods are very functional, an inexpensive but sturdy reel and fly line of their brand, which are also good. I often see these kits for about $100 plus or minus a little. Check the larger retailer stores: Cablea's, Gander Mountain or Sportsmens Warehouse. That is were I see them.