• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Bow setup...

cupper

Hi guys. I am just getting into archery... I just ordered a bow and now it is time to get it setup. I am in the process of collecting opinions on different items and doing some research. I just came from Cabin Fever in Victoria and they were very helpful and insightful. Now I want to ask some questions to all of you. I know a post like this can get long so I will try to keep it short. Basically I am just looking for opinions and insight on why certain pieces of equipment are preferred. Here goes...

1.) sights - 1-pin vs. 3-pin?

2.) Peep vs. kisser button

3.) Drop-away rests... what do you prefer? (I have been strongly encouraged to go with a muzzy zero-effect, but when talking to the kind folks at cabin fever, they tried to steer me towards a rip cord instead. They said that the muzzy has too many parts and is too tough to tune)

4.) What kind of release?

I really appreciate any thoughts you are willing to share.

Thanks a bunch!

-Cupper

#1)I shoot 3 pins... (15-30-40yds)The 40 is more for practice than for shooting deer.. never shot past 30 yards.

#2) all of the above.. I shoot a peep and a kisser button(just an extra knock set)

#3)I do shoot a drop away rest for hunting... I have a Trophy Taker and really like it.

#4)I shoot a Scott Release for hunting.. Not sure the model? I am a much larger fan of a buckle style than a velcro.. velcro is noisy! Be sure to shoot a release before you buy it. as each person seems to feel confortable with different releases.. \

Enjoy the new bow.. I love setting them up. I'm sure the boys as Cabin Fever will get you going in the right direction.