• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Thompson Center Pro Hunter

fishtrapgirl

I recently bought a T/C Pro Hunter .50 muzzleloader. I won't be able to get off of work for muzzleloader season, but do plan on using it for the Wisconsin gun season coming up next weekend. I put a Nikon Omega muzzleloader scope on it last week. I haven't had a chance to shoot it yet. This weekend I am going bowhunting in Wisconsin and will get a chance to sight it in at my parent's farm. Does anyone have a Pro Hunter and if you do what do you think of it so far? I know they are new to the market. I am new to muzzleloaders and with the amount of money I have invested in this thing it better be fun! Any tips or suggestions would be much appreciated. The gun shop where I got it threw in a bottle of American Pioneer Powder sticks. Will these work good enough or should I buy loose powder? Thanks for any help!

fishtrapgirl

The one problem you will have is that a muzzleloader is not like a regular rifle. You need to some time to figure out your load and get it sighted in right. The Omega scope is designed for 150 grains of pyrodex I believe but that powder should be close. I've not shot that powder but if its the one with Jim Shockey on the label (American Pioneer Gold) its supposed to be really really good. I have a buddy that swears by it. I shoot Triple 7 pellets and really like them. Used to shoot Pyrodex and honestly wouldn't buy the stuff anymore its so dirty and smelly compared to the triple 7 and that other stuff.