• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Field dressing tips?

EricSan

New hunter here going with my brother that hasn't hunted in 15yrs and need some instructions/tips on gutting our deer. Hope not to make too big of a mess out of it but being its my first time I need SOME direction. Are you suppose to try and drain some of the blood before cutting it open? Thanks!!!

EricSan,

My sugestion is to have some one show you. Writing about it is togh but I will try.

Step By Step:

1) Make sure the animal has expired, roll up your sleeves and remove your watch.

2) Lay it over on it's back and place a log or something on each side to keep it on its back.

3) Find the spot dead center at the bottom of the rib cage

4) Take a sharp knife and cut down from the bottom of the ribs to the genatals. Be cautious not to cut deeper then needed to open the abdomin cavity. Too deep will smell and make a mess.

5) Carefully cut around the genatals on a buck and the milk sack on a doe and remove them. Again be care full not to cut too deep and puncture the bladder.

6) Now back to the ribs and cut the ribs open right down the middle. Be carfull and pratice knife control as you will have to put a lot of pressure on the knife to cut them open. Cut right up to the neck.

7) Now following the down the sides of the ribs cut the lungs, heart and diaphram away from the body.

8) Now the fun part. Grab a hold of the diaphram and litterally rip out the entrails pulling twards the rear legs. Pull the stuff a good distance away so you are not kneeling in it for the next steps.

9) There will be some stuff still connected between the legs in the crotch area. Use you knife and carefull cut away all the attachments in the area taking care not to rupture the bladder.