• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

windage adjustment

volksdriver

I am new to the center fire rifle game, and have just purchased a H&R/NEF .243 for some "varmint" hunting. Had a Bushnell Trophy 3-9 x 40 Scope mounted on it before leaving the shop. I am having problems getting the windage adjusted, am max'd out on scope adjustment, and putting the pattern 5 inches to the right of target (still preliminary site-in and shooting from 50 yards.....wanted to ensure I was "on the paper")

How do you adjust the rings? I had "B-Square 1inch adjustable dovetail rings" put on. Is it something I should attempt to do, or have a hunting buddy assist..... or does it need to go back to the shop? I have 200 clicks overall on the adjustment scale ring, but have no more adjustment to move shot to the left! Was it mounted and bore sighted incorrectly?

The elevation is right on..... just hitting 5 inches right of crosshairs.

Really appreciate any help or suggestions!

If you are shooting to the right,then you should move your cross hairs to the right.That will make you shoot more to the left.Always move the direction to which you are shooting to correct.I hope this makes sense .

Thanks, Harvey Lee.... my problem is I have run out of scope adjustment....I am "bottom'd out" and don't want to force any more clicks and have over 200 clicks the opposite way which takes the grouping even further right! confused.gif

There has to be something wrong with either the scope or the way it is mounted. I would take it back to the shop and have them look at it. It should never take that many clicks to adjust.

Maybe I am not understanding.You are shooting to the right.When you are adjusting your scope are you moving your crosshairs to the right or to the left?