• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Guide etiquitte

I've hired a guide for a half-day later this Summer up in Lake Vermilion and I've never had a guide before. I've been fishing for about 2 years now and before I do something stupid I thought maybe I should know a few things before I go. I get the common-sense things like showing up on time and no drinking, but is it ok for me to bring my own rod (Airrus) and tackle box? Is it fair to expect him to teach or correct me on a few techniques? Also, is $20 considered acceptible as a tip at the end of the (half)day?

Thanks,

Steve

1-as you said,show up on time.

2-Most guides will let you use your own rod and tackle but just ask him.

3-Dont smoke in his boat unless he says its o.k.

4-Asking questions about catching fish is just fine as he is there to teach you.

5-respect his boat and equipment as if it was yours and ask before you use anything in the boat.

6-bring a fillet knife to clean your fish but any guide I have used has always cleaned the fish for me.

7-If you want pictures,ask him if he will have a camera with,as most do or bring your own.

8-If you smoke,ask him first as he may not want you to smoke in his boat and be carefull.

9-tip-I always give a tip to a guide who showed myself a good time and that doesnt mean that I caught a limit of fish.If he teaches me a few new things and works hard for me then the tip will reflect.I personally always give him 10-15% of what the charge for the trip was.I have also tipped him and bought him lunch to if he had time.Every one tips different and some probably none.I dont know what your paying,but yes 20 clams is pretty good and fair.