• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Report for 2/3 - 2/5

Bartz

Just got back from Appeldoorn's Sunset Bay. I have to admit I've been coming up for quite a few years and haven't seen this much perch action in a while. 2 of us ended up keeping 40 perch between 9-14.5 inches. The 14.5 was a personal best for me. Released another 40 more. The smallest released was 8 inches. Also released a 20 and a 24" walleye. All in all an excellent time. Used both jigging Rapala's and rattle reels with fat heads and shiners in about 30 feet of water. Hope all of you have the same luck that we did.

Tight Lines

Chad

Hey James Walleye

The 'eyes were caught on a small fire tiger jiggin' Rapala and a Buckshot jig in perch color. They were tipped with a wax worm at the time. I usually don't catch too many walleyes this time of year so I wasn't expecting them to hit on a jig with a waxie. They came through around 2-3pm on Friday. The perch were hitting around 11-4 each day. No walleyes on fatheads or shiners. The perch didn't care what they hit on though. Had great luck with them on shiners, waxies and fatheads.

Im hoping too get up the last weekend of walleye season, i havent been up there on the ice in a couple years. I wouldnt mind getting into that big perch bite. That 30 feet of water you spoke of, was that off of a mudflat?

We were just to the southwest of Doe Island in the SE corner of the lake. You'll see quite a few red Sunset Bay houses and we were in #29. The furthest one to the SW. I don't know what type of bottom it is there though. Looking at the map it looks like it probably is rock/gravel.