• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Snow goose decoy set-ups?

This is my first year hunting over decoys. I have 350 shells, 1/3 blues, 10 flyers and 50 wind socks, 1/2 blues. What are some winning set-ups? So far I have the "tear-drop", "W" and "V" sets. How far from roosts do you set-up?

I have hunted Sask. Albert, Mant. ND SD, have tried them all i think that the "V" or "C" is the best, but the bottom line is if you do not have alot of wind you are screwed. The wind is the diference between shooting 6 birds or shooting 60 birds. we always put or best looking deeks out front. and wherever the first couple of birds or flocks come in from move your blind there as quick as you can.

• Official Fishing Report Team - MN

Good tips Maxima. By the way you last name isn't Curtis is it? I think my buddy borrows some decoys from you each spring.

We use the V set most but we have been experimanting with different looks and sets. I like to watch the geese in the fields to see how they are sitting then we try to set up to resemble the flocks as close as possible. As stated set your best stuff up front and use the other decoys as fillers. The tip with the wind is a big one! The more wind the better. The geese come in real low when she's really blowing.

Icehawk, Have you ever seen ariel pics of snows in the field? When setting up the "V", is it pointed into the wind? How far from the point do you set your lay-outs?

Wind is good, but if you really wanna pile 'em up....FOG is what you need!

I think a tear drop tapering to a point on the downwind edge is a good set up..........If your using flyers be aware you WILL get them oddball birds that will hook into the middle of the spread and hover over your flyers.....and 99% of the time you wont see them till its too late to get a shot at 'em....just an FYI