• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

What's up with Star in the winter

Any of you fish star lake in the winter? My folks have a place up there. I fish it a lot in the summer but don't hear much about the winter bite. is there one? where (and for what) do most people try?

It's for some reason been the dead sea the last two or three years at least for me been out there twice this year lot af small northeres like alway's great for smoking see alot of walleye's on the camra but they won't give me the time of day but when I go I try to stay in my trusty spots I've been fishing since I was 5 years old so there could be some poeple cathing some stuff I don't know!

It has been hit or miss this year,(mostly miss for me). The big thing has been the ice this year. Not much ice, alot of snow, warm weather,and slush.Sounds like fun. Was out on Sunday looking for crappies and not a bite. Haven't tried for walleyes there.

It has been hit or miss this year,(mostly miss for me). The big thing has been the ice this year. Not much ice, alot of snow, warm weather,and slush.Sounds like fun. Was out on Sunday looking for crappies and not a bite. Haven't tried for walleyes there.

Hey, I'll give up a spot (in hopes that other people give some up too grin.gif).

One of my favorite spots is just east of the small island by the west arm along that drop off going west and south (mostly west) of the island. It's almost always good for a quick 'eye or two.

The last two years it has been 'the dead sea'. What's funny is it really has been the last two years. I did really well up until then. Last year I don't think I got a fish over 20". Other years I feel like they average about 18-20. Most of the fish I caught last year were 12-13. yuck.

Also, the gills have gone down the tube in that lake.