• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Bow hunting Questions

Mr. B

Since I am new to bow hunting I have a couple of questions.

First when you do hit a deer how long should you wait before you go and track it? I have not shot one yet so I am not sure about this. I have read some people wait a half hour, some and hour and others three hours.

Second if you miss is there anything that you can do? Since it seems that the bow does not make the same noise that a gun makes does the deer know it has been shot at?

I am pretty sure the deer I missed last year knew it had been shot at. I hit an Oak tree (so focused on the deer never saw the tree) 2 feet from the deer. I just sat there replaying the miss and hoping it would return. Anything I could have done differantly?

Thanks for any information.

I would say how long you should wait determines on the kind of hit. If you know you smoked it in the heart or lungs, saw blood pouring out, & hear or obviously see it pile up, a half hour's plenty. If you can see it's clearly dead you don't have to wait at all. If you're not sure of the hit, then wait. If you think it's a marginal to poor hit 3 hours is a very good idea, more probably won't hurt if it's not too warm & will work with your schedule. If it's a marginal hit sneak on the deer quietly as you follow the trail & continually be looking for that deer, you may get a chance to stick it again & finish the deal. I did that on a nice 8 pointer last year. We jumped him about 2 hours after the initial shot & could see he was bad off, I knew it was a pretty good hit to start with. We slowly followed him & I eventually stuck him again in his bed. He still took off again, but then piled up.