• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Recomond a reel for 8 weight 9' rod

Heidi

I got a screaming deal on a St Croix rod this week.

What brand/model reel would be recommended for this to go after some bass and small northerns. I don't fly fish that often, but I don't want a piece of junk either. Also, if you could recommend line as well. Thanks for your replies

Hey Heidi . . . I just got an Okuma Sierra Series reel for one of my 8wts beginning of the summer. I personally like Okuma reels. They are reasonably priced also.

For lines, usually I pick up whatever is in the bargin bins. I don't go the absolute cheapest because, with everything, you get what you pay for. Maybe someone else can chime in with a brand preference.

You'll probably want a floating, weight forward line.

I've been guiding in Alaska for 8 years and see many fly reels get lots of abuse from long runs and just basic wear-n-tear. I don't think you can beat a Ross reel. Pick what ever one you feel like spending money on and you'll be happy with the quality, years of service, warranty, and probably service as well although i havn't needed any yet (in 13 years).

As far as fly lines- I've went through dozens on a couple pike and musky rods that sit here in the closet over the summer and don't get used except a few trips in the fall and spring and RIO bass/pike lines are great and cast larger flies in the wind very effectively. The biggest thing is they'll hold up great even if you don't have them on the water every day. Use a fly line conditioner every few outings and store them like you'ld store spare 35mm film and it'll last you a long time and it'll seem brand new and help you cast like a pro.

Pete