• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

18" Small Mouth considered Big???

mnsnowdaboy

Sorry guys but I'm a noob and I've done my research. Well I just caught the biggest smallie in my life, it's 18" but I didn't weigh him it's pretty fat though. I caught him in the St. Croix River, guess in my short time as a beggining fisherman I'm not sure if it's worth to celebrate for act like it's no big deal, it's one of many to come.

I can't wait for that trophy fish so I can plaque it. Is a Small Mouth even worth doing a Taxidermy on it. I know walleyes and large mouths are sought after but are smallies considered great fishes???

Any help would be great, I'm getting the impression that a 18" smallie is nothing to get exited about.... confused.gif

Is it a trophy to you?

If it is then by all means mount it and or have a fiberglass replica made.

Don't worry about what everyone else thinks.

I don't mean that in a rude way, but a trophy is only a trophy to the person that caught it--if you are seeking validation from others it probably isn't the trophy you're looking for and you should wait.

I almost crapped the first time I caught an 18 inch smallie, I have since released a couple of twenties, but they were not up to what I feel my trophy smallie would be.

This is your decision and you should make it with pride and satisfaction. You might not ever catch another smallie that big, you might catch the new state record, your decision.

Hey thanks, I really appreciate your advise. Well I guess I wound mount the fish, yes I have confidense in myself I can do better but I guess my friends and I don't usually target smallies. Are they even a worthy fish like walleyes and large mouths?

What is the state record for smallies too?

Well off to the races, 20" is my next goal. wink.gif

Hey.

It's a nice fish.