• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Otsego Report

PhoenixSun

Well, here goes my first post. I am somewhat new to the Otsego area and have owned a fishing pole for all of 1 year. I tend to get into things quite seriously, and fishing has been no exception. I usually fish from shore on the 'Sipi around Otsego Park and Babcock areas. I had some success fishing eddies right in the quick moving water using texas rigged soft plastics. I also have a lot of success using mimic minnows in the slack water. How is everyone else doing?

Welcome to MN and the site. You'll find guys like HawgTide, SmallieHawgin, Riverrat316, Fonz, Eyeguy and others to be a wealth of information. Pay particular attention to their posts and you'll learn volumes. Something I learned from this site is to rig a 4" Yum Dinger wacky style with a small split shot. I have subsequently added a weedless hook which greatly reduces the number of snags. I have the best luck with bright colors. Good luck and good fishing!

I dont kow if I would say a "wealth of information"... well from me anyway.... but the previously mentioned stick baits (yum dingers, yamamoto senkos, case magic stiks) work real well wacky rigged (plain hook through the center) and I usually go weightless with those.