• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Draw length question

Crow Hunter

Thinking about possibly getting a new bow- I currently shoot a Hoyt Pro Hunter that I have had for many years. I have a 33 inch draw length- I don't see any new bows in catalogs that come close to that. Does anyone know of any bow models that would have a long enough draw for me? Which pro shop or shops in the twin cities would carry them?Thanks.

Are you sure that is what your draw length is (I'll believe you)? And is that to the end of the arrow or do you have like 3" of arrow out infront of the rest? I am 6'5" with a heck of a wingspan and my draw is only 30". Go to one of those bow shops in the cities and have them measure you for draw length it might help. Besides that I don't know of or have heard of any bows that have that much of an adjustment on draw, not that I am an expert on all the bows out there.

Like K said.. 33 inch draw is huge... I am 6-3 and monkey arms and have a 31.5" draw length.

There are bows out there that can go to a 33" draw, but there are very few. I would first check to verify you really due need a 33" draw first.

Here's a simple equation that will get you very close to your actual draw length. Measure your wingspan... subtract 15" from that number... then divide that number by 2. This will give you the approximate AMO draw length you will need. If you have large hands subtract 0.5" and if you have small hands add 0.5" to this value.