• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Lake Superior Charter Trip - Duluth or Grand Marais?

I am looking to conclude an inland Gunflint area angling trip with my two teen sons by going out on a Lake Sueprior Charter boat during the first week of August. I have no experience in this area and wonder if anyone can advise whether there is a better experience to be had by going out of Grand Marais or by driving back home and stopping in Duluth. There are certainly far more charter boats in Duluth, but I dont know which area holds the best prospects for landing some fish. Any advice? Thanks

I am no Lake Superior expert by any means, but you should be able to do decent from either location. From what I hear fishing has been very good in Grand Marais with some big lakers and good numbers of small salmon getting caught, and it sounds like the charter boats out of the twin ports are starting to pick up bigger lakers now with the bite going deep and switching over to meat. I have seen some huge fish come to dock up in grand marais, but it seems almost all the charters know their stuff and will do their best to put you on fish, either way you go you should have a great trip.

Quickstrike, thanks for the quick reply. I prefer Grand Marais because it fits well with my itinerary. My two trout addicted teens and I are going to be spending a few days on Trout lake just up the Gunflint Trail. There are a few other lakes ( Kimball, Mink and Bogus) in near proximity. We are neophytes and will be bringing both fly fishing and spinning gear. Do you have any experience with stream trout in these lakes? if so, any suggestions on tactics or locations. We will be primarily catch and release.