• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Which Fishing Line is Best????

What kind of line is best? Is Firewire or spider worth the money? or is Trilene & Stren will do just fine?

Depends on the situation and type of fishing. But for the super lines, I personally like PowerPro the best. Tuff Line is a close 2nd. I still used mono for some situation though.

looking for a tough line but with good casting and less kinks & frails

I really depends on what type of fishing your plan on doing and what presentations. There are pro & cons of mono and super lines. The biggest advantages of a super line is the smaller diameter you can hold more line, more strength, no stretch, and super sensitive.

I'd say grab a spool of PowerPro and see if you like.

Good luck

Personally I really like Fireline. I've been using it for several years.

That said, when this topic came up earlier this spring, there was an overwhelming clamor for PowerPro, so I recently bought some & plan on spooling up a rod to see how it performs.

I love Power-pro. For mono, Trilene XT and XL are good lines. I would stay away from Stren. I tried some this year because it was on sale and it was junk. I think I lost 4 lures, and several with no fish on, before I scrapped it and threw on some Trilene XL. I will never buy Stren again.

After 2 years of trial and error... I have settled on 8lb Fireline with a three foot leader of 20Lb Vanish fluorocarbon. Seems a great combo. Low stretch.. great for clear water.. strong... Haven't yet lost a fish due to bite off nor breakage (besides a few bad knots.. my fault).

I'm using Fireline with 8' of 17lb. Vanish leader and it works great - unless the Northerns are aggressive. Then I move up to 30lb. Vanish and sometimes even that gets bitten off.

I haven't tried PowerPro yet, but I've heard nothing but good about it.

Power Pro is great stuff!