• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Watab Trout

caught a limit on Sunday, anyone else get out there? GULP red worms with a pink jighead seems to be the hot bait.

I was out on Tuesday and caught two in about 40 feet of water. I was using a plain red hook with a crawler tipped with corn. This was my first time ever going after the traut so catching two was still a lot of fun and even better when I got home and grilled them!

Specifically what kind of jig and gulp? At what depth have you been having luck? Any info would be a great help I'm a rookie at this. Thanks

i was in 50 feet of water, my buddy was down 35 feet and i was at about 24 under the bobber. I just tried that GULP and i don't have the jar here but they are plain looking angle worms, kind or red in color. one of the fish i cleaned had some green GULP maggots in it's stomach so someone else was using some apparently. Seemed the 1/16 ounce plain pink jig-head worked good. I was gullible enough to but some "corn dip" and some stuff that looked like marshmellows but it didn't do much. Make sure to jig up and down or twitch your lure often.

Thanks Catman. Thats interesting that you found gulp in the stomach. I was slip bobbering them, were you jigging? I was all the way across the lake in the furthest most bay I'm I close? The whole lake is deep and I've heard the lakers are always moving around so it would be nice to know a general location.