• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Anyone have any good tips for fishing Lake Trout in the BWCA? I have never done it before, but I will be going up there in a month and I want to try it out. The lake I will be fishing is called Holt Lake. It is a little over 100 acres, has 2- 75' deep holes, and 3 or 4 streams coming in and out.
I will have no electronics with, so I can only find depths with a lakemap.

Any infor would be appreciated, thanks.

RickyP

Ricky P,
Just looked at the lake on the DNR website, I would consider trying a couple of things. It loks like there is a pretty good drop off on the west side of the island into the 73' hole, you might want to trying using your canoe to drop a cicso off in deeper water and then freespooling until your on-shore (This is "inactive" fishing but productive) then wait for a trout to take it. You may want to tie a small piece of string on your line near the tip so you can tell if its running.
If water temps are still cool, try pulling a rapala/small spoon along the shore line in morning and evenings. Or you can try taking a couple of bucktail jigs (white or glow or yellow have been best for me)and salted shiners and jig the drop-off areas. Start by jigging just off bottom a couple of feet and work up in about 5' intervals, lakers will suspend at different depths and will come up a long way to smack a bait.
Just a couple things to try, good luck.
Xplorer

Thanks for the tips Xplorer. I am really excited to catch my first Lake Trout. I will be there for 5 days, so I am going to try every possible technique I can. I will report back in month.