• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Buffalo Smallies

I have been fishing Buffalo now for the last 4 years on and off, But last night was the first time that I caught a smallmouth bass, and a nice one at that. (17in) I caught it while fishing for walleyes, (caught 3 of those last night too). In fact it was kind of a wierd night. We caught 3 walters, 6 crappie, 1 smallie, 8 largemouth, 1 catfish (NOT a bullhead), 1 sunfish, 1 northern, all in the same area.

I looked on the DNR webiste and they haven't surveyed any smallies on the lake. Any one else catch any there?

I have caught some real nice smallies early in the year, but only then. It seems by June they are gone.

I caught a smallie ice fishing late ice last year. It was also a decent fish, maybe 2 1/2 lb'er. What kind of depths are you targeting at Buffalo at this time?

Been fishing 6-15 FOW. For me all depends on what the wind has done or is doing.

Last year this time, I caught a 19 1/2". Its funny because I was new to the area last year and I had people keep telling me there is Smallies in Buffalo. I totally didn't believe them until SWACK! I would say almost pushing 5 pounds. The biggest smallie of my life. I havn't caught one since though. Yesterday however 36" Fatty Pike, that was also a nice surprise since I didn't think the Big Buff had that large of pike in it either.