• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

prop doesn't move !

mnvikingsfreak

Question

I'm preparing for the worst but the propeller on my 60's 75 hp johnson doesn't move at all in neutral or drive I haven't got the motor to start yet is this an easy fix if I get the parts at a junk yard?if so whats the prob with it?broken shaft or etc...?if anyone could tell me a rough estimate on the prices of the parts used and the time it would take it would be very helpful thanks for your time

10 answers to this question

It may be too simple but it may just be the shear pin! Don't be mad if I am wrong ok?

lol I will take any advice im a rookie when it comes to boats thanks

You must be desperate with the double post on this board today. smile.gifgrin.gif

Seriously, I don't know what to tell ya without looking at the motor. If you know how to tear a lower unit off the motor and inspect the gears, I would start there.

It is always feasible to find a outboard salvage business that might have a whole lower unit that fits that motor. It's worth a try if it's shot. I know people that have done that and it worked well.

I had a 75 not move, and I needed a new hub for my prop. The rubber stripped out and was spinning inside. All you can do is hope it;s the hub or the pin. Its hard to tell if you can;t get it started. Do have a good spark?

If you cant get it started then you probably need new spark plugs or the bulb inside. Whens the last time youve changed the spark plugs? It could be the hub, gears or shear pin also mentioned but it still should start.