• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

I am new to the knife River area and was wondering if there is any one who is familiar with the area and willing to share some fishing info. I have been out 4 times now and haven't had a release. I fished shallow from knife river to the French River average 15-40FOW with bombers and I have tried out in deep water trolling spoons from 50 -125 in 150 to 200 FOW. I have fished lake trout this time of year and they always seem to be shallow. But nothing works for me. Is there any special tricks or techniques that work better in this area. I have herd of quite a few fish being caught and I though someone may be able to point me in the right direction. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

As you're most likely aware, most of the warmer water is over on the South Shore now. This is where the smelt have been lately, although most of us weren't able to net any due to the ugly weather we had. A lot of fish have been stacking up on that warmer water. I marked a ton of fish there Saturday. I've never had success up at Knife this time of year, as the water seems really sterile in comparison to what you'd find E and SE of there.

If I were you, I'd hug the shore and use trolling boards to see if you can't snag something. If I were you, I'd get a Wisconsin license. If not, then fish between the Duluth entry, along park point, out to the Superior entry, an move out gradually as the water warms up over the next month or two.

Hope this helps.