• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

I have a question here for some of the BWCA vets...

I am heading to the BWCA on June 9th and putting in on the Moose River. I am hoping to do a little Lake Trout fishing and any pointers would be helpful.

I have heard that vertical jigging spoons can be effective in deeper water, but what about shallows? I would think there might still be in some shallows around that date, but I am pretty new to the whole Lake Trout thing and am not sure.

Any info would be great!

Even with a somewhat warm spring-- lakers at that time of the year should be mostly shallow- baring a 4-5 day period of 80+ weather and lows in the 60's. Even then, their should still be some left in the shallows.

Vert Jig works, but also try trolling raps and spoons behind the canoe (longlined)- spoons even tipped with some stink. The shallow water they tend to be in spooks them quite easily. From camp and the shore try bringing in some frozen smelt or ciscoe and set up a big "deadstick" It's sometimes the only we catch them. Casting can sometimes be a nightmare with all that going on- so have a buddy run out your line 20-30yds or so in the canoe and then wait for some action.

Try Oyster lake if your going north on the mooose.

Keep your line tight,

Muddy wink.gif

Casting spoons and some stickbaits trolled/drifted with the canoe seems to be the most productive. Casting from shore is always good towards eve. I run a longer line when trolling, try to get the bait down to some bigger fish. I've always gone in May so surface temps are always cooler. That early in June they should still be active in the top 20'

Spoons: Kroc's, Pimples, Laker Takers, cyclpos, etc. (orange, chartreuse, red, silver, gold)

Sticks : Yo's(silver/purple & green/gold), Jointed (orange) Rapala,