• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

I was on a lake not too long ago, and I have a new 8" Strikemaster Lazer Hand auger that will cut ice fine the first 3" then just shaves a little off at a time, does anyone know whats wrong or am I doing it wrong (don't know how that is done) or how to fix it? I am at a loss for words, new auger not cutting! any help appreciated

May be bad blades from the shop. I had one with blades that were fine for about a week then they went. Go to Marine General( or whoever does sharpening by you) and trade the blades in for some resharpened ones and try that. If that dont work take a piece of about 3" long by 1/2" wide piece of cardboard and put it between the blade and auger. Of course you will have to take blades off. The cardboard should be at the level of the screws or higher. Your trying to increase the pitch of the blades. If it dont work take it back. Im betting its just bad blades.

Ofcourse those shaver hand augers dont cut a whole lot on a turn. My old Mora cut more per turn but was harder to turn even when sharp.

I hate to say this but are you cutting a straight hole? If you get to crooked that could happen.

Good point Up North. Make sure the blades arent rusty as well. Im still betting its either bad blades or bad pitch. If its not the blades take it back and get a new one.

I had brand new blades last year and it cut like a champ till I borrowed it to my brother. Took it out this year and it sucks.

I asked him about it and the only thing we could come up with is he had bounced it off the blades trying to shake off ice shavings that were frozen on.

The blades were no longer straight and true and now the leading cutting edge wasn't touching.

I can't understand why it cuts for 3" and stops, that just doens't make sense. Either it cuts or it doesn't has been my experience.