• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

• Join In - We Share Fishing Reports & Outdoor Information Here

You know what we all love...

The same things you do!!!! Share what you love & enjoy in the outdoors as well as thank those whose posts you 'appreciate.'

Have Fun!!!

Sign in to follow this  

Help me understand

I am new to MN and to Mille Lacs so I'm sorry if I don't understand the entire situation.

I have read a lot of posts that claim that the reg's imposed by the DNR on Mille Lacs are for political reasons not the well being of the lake. I don't understand what the DNR has to gain by doing something that is not in the best interest of the lake. From what I understand the treaty is here to stay and there is nothing that the DNR can do about it except try and work around it.

Maybe I'm being naïve but it seams to me that the DNR has people that have gone to college to learn about how these ecosystem work. They have spent time studying the lake to the best of their ability and are doing what they believe is best for the lake. I don’t see any reason that they would do otherwise.

Like I said I'm new to the state and I want to get a better understanding of the situation. I would appreciate any information that help me understand why everyone seams so against DNR.

Nuclear Fishin

They don't have anything to gain, but also don't have anything to lose. Do the fisheries managers get a pay increase or a new contract if the fishing is really going great? Or a pay cut if the fishing is bad?

The ones who are concerned and skeptical are the people who gain or lose economically as a result of the quality of fishery.

I think that everybody agrees on what the outcome of this issue should be, more fish to go around and a healthy lake for the future. The debate comes at a point where people disagree as to how to reach that outcome.