• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

First Turkey!!

Thunderchicken

Well, I got my first turkey last week here in South Dakota on my second ever hunt. Last year went out to the Black Hills with little success one for six. A lot of rain!!
Then this year was a totally different story. Four of us hunted on the plains this year and went 8 for 8 with everyone getting there two birds each in THREE DAYS!! My first was a nice tom with 8 1/2 inch beard and 3/4 inch spurs and my second was a younger one with only 4 inch beard and nubs instead of spurs. It was great, my first ever to hear a tom spit and drum as the experts call it. I think we were early though because the birds didn't answer the calls much and so we did some ambushing and catching them loffing around the bluffs in the after noons. They were also bunched up in large groups. I'm just a rookie at this but may have to go later in the year to get them to come to the calls better. What do you think??

Thanks

• 'we have more fun' FishingMN Creators

Congrats!

Where abouts where you hunting?

We're heading out next Tuesday to the Black Hills. Hoping to time it right this year. Last two springs have been so late over there that the birds were not interested in hen calling. Kinda like you described.

Borch

Thunderchicken:

You may have been a bit early, but I would've guessed you to be about right on the better part of the season. Bunched up birds can be an indication of that, but it can also mean that the hens are very willing to breed and are roosting with the toms. Toms are always looking for an opportunity, but its tough to pull them away from a sure thing. Last year in KS we experienced the same thing.....birds that would ignore or even shy away from even the lightest of calling.