• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Do I need a dog training collar thread

bigeyes

Ok, guys reading the other thread I am curious as to the opinions of others and I would appreciate the insite of setterguy's knowledge. I am new to dogs, but want a dog that will work without a shock collor. Here is the background. He is a 5 month old shorthair, his father was an excellent hunter and never saw a shock collar. I would classify my pup as pretty mellow, cooperative right now. I take him through fields and woods almost everyday and he seems to have a range I like. He always stays ahead of me and already responds to hand verbal/signals for right and left. Seems to have good drive, holds points and finds down birds. I am considering a shock collar because of the two following reasons: When on walks through the field I call him he will come, but not to my side. He just does a fly by and keeps hunting. So when it's leash time to go home it has become a real problem catching him. What I have been doing is calling him(not working) and just sitting and waiting tell he passes close enough to grab him(some times 15 minutes later). I don't want to chase him and don't know what to do? I hate to bring a dog tread a use that. I work with him on a check cord and give him the "come" command and make him come to me every time, but often if involves me jerking him in part or all of the way. He knows "come" because about half the time he will do it on his own(no leash). We work on this for 10 min a day almost every day and I make him come all the way to me. The second problem is similiar when he fetches something about half the time he will do a fly by and try to make it a keep away game or come most of the way in and then turn away. I do not chase him ever. What do you guys recommend? Should I go with a shock collar and at what age.
Sorry for the long post