• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

pheasent - shot loads

im new to phesant hunting and was wondering if 3 inch mags are needed or will 2 3/4 6 shot be enough? we are going to a game farm , if that makes any diff.also i am using a 12 guage.

I like to use 3" mags myself. 2 3/4 is fine but I use the 3 in. so I can take my time shooting the bird. I always feel rushed using the shorter ammo it seems. Using the mags allows me to wait a bit longer and take a better first shot. I have a GSP and usually end up kicking the bird up so I like to waite till the bird gets further out. It seems to do a bit less damage. Try a #4 shot with the Rem. Nitro Mags I think you will like it.

Hunt em up!!
ShortHairguy

I've been shootin a 20 for the last 2 years.I hunt public lands including WPA's which you can't have lead even in you pocket.So i only shoot steel,3" #4's now as the birds flush at longer distances I will change to 3"#2's. So far this year I am 8 for 8 with the 4's.

[This message has been edited by BDR (edited 10-20-2003).]

If you're hunting Game Farm Phesants you can easily kill them with regular Game Loads, 3 and 3/4 Drams of Powder #4's or 6's.

Game Farm birds aren't real tough and they rarely flush wild.

GSP--If you shoot a 2 3/4" Mag. it's a much faster load with better knock-down power at longer range. 3" Mags have more pellets and the Max. Dram of powder will be faster pushing fewer pellets (in a 2 3/4") versus a 3" Mag.

Just a thought if you're interested. I switched about 6 years ago from Lead 3" Mags to the 2 3/4" and I know I'm killing more Phesants now than before--I absolutley hate chasing-down wounded birds!

------------------
Chells

For game farm birds 2 3/4" lead #6 should be fine. On wild birds I use 2 3/4" #5 and #4 lead. If I shoot steel I use 3" #2.

• 'we have more fun' FishingMN Creators