• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Where to hunt Pheasant in Minnesota?

Pherris

I am fairly new to pheasant hunting and I am wondering where in MN you can hunt that you may find good populations on public land? Thanks

The best hunting can be found in far southern MN, also reffered to as Iowa or the South Western part of MN called South Dakota.
Just kidding, I have had alot of good hunting in southern and West central MN finding a few bird pockets here and there, We (the dogs & I) cover a lot of ground for a couple of birds. As far as I know there are no "good populations" in this state and the future isn't looking to bright I'm sorry to say. Try the DNR bird counts and see if any of the high count areas interest you.

• 'we have more fun' FishingMN Creators

Here is a little map courtesy of the Minnesota DNR for 2002.

It should be a good indicator for this year because we are assuming the pheasant numbers will be even better for 2003.

prospectsmap02.gif

[This message has been edited by Rick (edited 08-25-2003).]

• 2 weeks later...
  • 'we have more fun' FishingMN Creators

Here is a Pheasant map courtesy of the Minnesota DNR for 2003.

As a side note, the SW parts of the map are averaging over 240 birds/sq mile and the SCentral parts over 110birds/sq mile.

prospectsmap03.jpg

Inman (Wunderlich) WMA?
Anyone hunt it?
Just trying to find some places to hunt that may hold some birds.
I plan on going to Appleton as well, but would like to find some places closer to Moorhead (within 90 miles anyway) becasue i cant afford to drive that far all the time.

Any pointers for me and my dog would be great.
Thanks