• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

English Setter vs. French Brittany

Ok, I have narrowed my search for my first pup down to either an English Setter or a French Brittany.

Here are some things you should know before giving me your opinions.

I plan to use this dog primarially for grouse hunting, but probably a few pheasant trips each year. I want to spend no more than $400 for a female pup and would like a pup some where in the Feb-April 2004 time frame. This will be my first pup and my first experiences with a pointing dog, I have some experience working with labs, but none with pointing breeds.

So knowing that information, what would you suggest?? I would also like some information on breeders in the state that may be planning litters in this time range.

Feel free to e-mail me at either address:
[email protected]
or
[email protected]

Grabs, I have a male Lab and a male Brittney. My Brittney is 8 now and is a great bird dog, he pointed his first ruffie at 7 months, intinctive flash point. Worked his training thru books and with the help of friends. He loves the woods and hunting Ruffies, but really shines in CRP looking for Sharptails. I have shot dozens of birds I would have walked right by without him. Brits are somewhat high strung/energized and need lots of space in a yard or excersize. I have owned dogs all my life except for a stint in the Army. My Brit is a very gentle, loving dog, and is excellent with kids and other dogs. Even at 8 years old he is GO GO GO though!!!

Fisky

Grabs-

You and I have chatted over email a few times so I will breakdown the differences in breeds for you and anyone else in here that cares to read them. As always these differences are generalizations and of course there are always exceptions to the rule.