• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

New Lab puppy...

fishtrap3

Anyone give me ideas on what books i should be looking at buying to help me in training Cole....I am new to the owning of a hunting dog(at least i hope she will hunt) and need all the help I can get...
Thanks
fishtrap3

Richard Wolter's book " Water Dog " is a classic and a great help in Lab training! It's probably at Barnes and Noble or maybe Gander Mt.

Water Dog is great, and so is Game Dog - I used both, and have had good success. A friend loaned me an old book called Training Your Retriever by a guy named Free, and he swore by the methods. I used some of the ideas in there, and found the book itself a lot of fun to read. Overall though, I would have to say I like Wolters approach. I made a special trip to the Cities to go to a Game Fair one year to meet the guy, and was glad I did. He had a black lab (the subject of Game Dog) that was simply outstanding. I was mortified to be standing there talking to the guru as his dog sat calmly taking it all in, while mine did his best to rip my arm out of socket. Wolters smiled, said "he doesn't believe you really mean sit" and then quietly confided that sometimes application of force is a good thing.

• 'we have more fun' FishingMN Creators

Training Your Retriever by James Lamb Free..Read this book 25 years ago. I highly recomend it. Good Luck with the pup

I also like the book 'Gun Dog' by Author unknown. I'm not sure who wrote it because I lent it to friend about 7 years ago.... He must still be training. But the book came from the Outdoor life book club.

"few of my thoughts"