• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Hey guys and gals, I'd be happy to ponder your questions about lakes in the East Central region of the state. I've been fishing this region for almost 20 years and would say it's pretty hard to beat for quantity, quality, and specie diversity. If I don't know the answer, I can probably get it from the other folks I know that fish this area as much as I do. Plus, there's some regular contributors to this forum that know an awful lot about the area. If you've got a question, it will get answered here. If you've got a hot tip, post it here. If you've got a secret, email it to me wink.gif

Let's heat this forum up a little. A little something for you right now, I rarely ice fish anywhere but this region. That might say it all right there.

Great, I have a ? I do a lot of oce fishing but don't have much luck cheching eye's throught the ice what is the best set up for this and what baits are good. I pick up a few just crappie fishing but never on my set up for eye's. If you have any ideas I would love to here them.

Shorefisher,

I don't think winter walleyes are a bait issue as much as I think they are a location issue. I think if you can present a bait where the fish want to be you have a pretty good chance at iceing them. Now, there's no doubt that such-and-such bait will be better than another at a certain time, and that makes for a good case to have multiple presentations rigged up. The baits I have had the most success with have been jigging spoons like a Sweedish Pimple tipped with the head of a fathead, a jigging Rapala with eurolarve on the the treble, and just a plain hook and small shiner on a tip-up. But these presentations are worthless without the right location.