• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

I was wondering what your opinion is on the proposed slot on walleye for Jessie lake. The DNR is considering a 17" to 26" protected slot. They are asking for the publics input by contacting the office in Grand Rapids with a public meeting in September. My opinion, maybe 18" or 19" and raise the upper end. I am not an expert on this but 17" on this lake seems a bit too small. Any ideas? I don't keep any over 20" anyway but right now it is tough to get any that would not fall into the proposed slot.

I'm all for it, although it does seem like they could bump it up an inch or two on the lower end. The bad thing about this type of slot is that everyone will keep any small walleye they catch, where as they would probably release a 13"er before. The fishing pressure on Jessie continues to increase year after year, I'm all for protecting the resource, if it takes a slot, then so be it. If it means a few less meals a year out of that lake, no big deal to this guy. I have my own personal slot anyways - 20"-30"ers go back.

Would like to see 19-26" slot put on with a 14" min. Jessie lake is going to need some protection. Last weekend put back a 26", 21", 23" and still had enough for a fry. With the poor opener there has been hardly any pressure, but in years past it was how long it was to limit out. My personal feeling is they should put a slot on all northern minn lakes.