• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Panfish in an Aquarium

gophers 'n' eyes

I am interested in starting an aquarium with some panfish in it. I was wondering if those of you out there who have had experience with these could give me any information/tips on how to take care of fish like this. Things i was wondering about are how much is it going to cost to feed them and along with that how much do you feed them in a day/week/etc... I have looked into tanks and water conditioner and found out some general information about how much all of that would cost, but now i was just wondering how much it costs to feed them. Being a college student myself, it sometimes gets hard to afford to buy food for myself ha. Any information would be appreciated. Thanks in advance and good luck fishing to everyone.

I am no expert but I think it is illegal to transport fish for a personal aquarium, so I am sure you would need to go though the state to do this. Now Cabalas and the Mall of America both have ones with native fish so their must be a way to do it legally but I bet there is a lot of red tape involved.

JegerJack

------------------
"What did the old man trade for these guys, a used puck bag?"

Nice link, after reading that post by Analyzer I might just have to try.... I have a pretty large tank sitting at my parents house that I can use....

JegerJack

------------------
"What did the old man trade for these guys, a used puck bag?"

Great link. My wife was just talking about doing a saltwater tank but a buddy of mine has one and it can get very spendy.

Looks like I will be talking to her about doing a freshwater tank. (I would much rather observe the species of fish that we catch on the weekends)