• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Favorite Bird

I just read an article on Bob Janssen in the Strib. He's MN's number one birder.
It made me think about what bird's song I like to hear the most when I'm out fishing.
I'm sure that some of you guys are gonna rip on me but that's fine-- I'm secure in my masculinity.
Like when it's really early and the air is colder than the water so there is fog coming off it and its real quiet. What bird do you like to hear the most? Or what sound for that matter?
Mine would be the purple finch and mourning dove.

[This message has been edited by B-bear (edited 06-10-2003).]

Loon, 'cause I'm still kinda new to the state and it seems real...local color, y'know? A Loon gives me a real sense of place.

------------------
Aquaman
<')}}}}}><{
Peace and Fishes

I would say Loon too --except I hate when they pop up on the surface out of nowhere right next to the boat and scare the be-jeezes outa me.

[This message has been edited by B-bear (edited 06-10-2003).]

My favorite is hearing a Pheasant Cackle...
Reminds me that hunting season is coming! grin.gif
weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Good Luck smile.gif
Chev

Dang that's another one I like.
I forgot about Pheasants too.
CACK-CACK-CACK-CACK!!!!
I don't hear those very often fishing tho.

I like to hear the Sound of Loons on a foggy fall or spring morning.
Its cool to see the mother with the "little one" on her back. Its amazing, no matter how close you get she wont dive with the baby loon on her back. Its a cool sight.

------------------
aka Fishstunner

Oh yes, the beautiful loon. It just makes my day to see and hear them at the lake. But at home I love waking up to the morning doves. My next favorite is the humming bird. They sound like a mini helicopter when they come in to the feeder.

------------------
Phyl