• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

cocker spaniel

bobbersgone

does anyone use a cocker spaniel for hunting?are they any good hard to train?wife got a new little puppy and i would like to know i it can be train. im new to the hunting with dogs. thanks

American Cocker or English Cocker? Unfortunatley the American Cocker has pretty much been destroyed by the Show People. Most of them do not possess any field work instincts and their physical make-up is not geared for field work any longer. All that being said I'd still give it a go. My first hunting dog at the age of 13 was my Mom's Chiauhau/terrier mix. Darn decent little hunter till I got my 1st Shorthair at 16. I've seen pictures of field bred American Cockers from the 40's and 50's and you'd never guess you were looking at a cocker. The stories I've heard is that they were great little hunters. My neighbor had an American Cocker and it still possessed some of it's hunting instincts... but he really had problems with the "bug" eyes collecting debris and the long "dumbo ears" trapping water in it's ears. It probably picked up some of it's skills hunting with his Brittany, but unfortunatley the cocker has passed on... something to do with a genetic fault that damaged it's spinal cord from swelling and paralyzed it's back end. Tough to see a 5 year old dog not be able to get around. As far as I know there is one kennel of field bred American Cockers still around. I think he is in Wisconsin somewhere if memeory serves me right.