• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

• WE CREATE LONG TERM, MEANINGFUL RELATIONSHIPS IN HERE ... PLEASE JOIN US.

You know what we all love...

RECEIVE THE GIFTS MEMBERS SHARE WITH YOU HERE...THEN...CREATE SOMETHING TO ENCHANT OTHERS THAT YOU WANT TO SHARE
    When you enchant people, you fill them with delight and yourself in return. Have Fun!!!

Sign in to follow this  

Late Winter Technique

I have been using a dead stick technique for 2-3 years that I have found very effective for Jan-Febr walleyes. I was on LOW and a guide said the walleye/sauger would not pull down a bobber. We hooked minnows thru the tail so they could struggle upright on lead head jigs on a simple jigging stick. Dropped the jig to right off the bottom, and set the jig stick on a stand so that it just balanced. When the minnow struggles you can see the motion on the balancing rod, when a fish takes the bait and moves away the rod tip will slowly tip downward. Before the rod goes down the hole grab and set the hook.
I use this technique religously late in the season. I have found I can outfish almost any bobber set-up and can outfish most active jigging spoons. Color is an influence but is somewhat lake dependent.
I caught 8 walleyes on Minnewaska last nite using this technique and my bobber rig never moved.
Has anyonee else used this technique much?

StrosLit31

I have use this method before and still do but have notice that you might get more bits but also lose more fish. If you have a bobber rig or maybe a rattle reel set really lightly you can let the fish run with it but on the other hand if you have a pole jigging you need to set the hook right away.

i just use a tiny bobber and light line so they cant feel anything.then at least you can let them take it.i think youll catch alot more fish that way.

StrosLit31