• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Get Ready Lets go Ice Fishing

TackleBoxMike

I'm new to the post and have enjoyed the reading Thank you Everyone. Well it's time to post a message.<P>Last Year in Feburary some work buddies and me planned a ice fishing trip of course it was all last minute planning. It was my frist time ice fishing at lake of the woods so I didn't know what to expect. We all told stories of metro area ice fishing trips and the stories were great. We all went on bragging about who was the best fisherman out of all of us. I had opened up a can of worms when I spoke up and told these guys let go to LOW, and find out who the best fisherman truely is. Well they accepted the challenge and we had a great trip. <P>We are wanting to plan another trip. We could possibly be going the frist weekend in December. We'd pile in a R.V. and pull up some snowmoblies and portable fishouses. But is the ice safe that early ??? or should we wait until the new year weekend and line up a sleeper fishouse??? When is the fishing at it's best???<P>Let's keep our hooks sharp! <BR>TackleBoxMike <P>

Here, as with most places I know of, the best fishing is early ice and late ice. The first weekend in December may or may not happen. Your best bet is to monitor this forum and check with the resorts in the area.Good luck. Ol'Sneller

The last three years we have done a portable trip to the NW angle. We hit it about the second weekend of December. Last year there was 8-10 inches of ice, the year before there was 12-14.<P>