• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

• WE CREATE LONG TERM, MEANINGFUL RELATIONSHIPS IN HERE ... PLEASE JOIN US.

You know what we all love...

RECEIVE THE GIFTS MEMBERS SHARE WITH YOU HERE...THEN...CREATE SOMETHING TO ENCHANT OTHERS THAT YOU WANT TO SHARE
    When you enchant people, you fill them with delight and yourself in return. Have Fun!!!

Sign in to follow this  
bigeyes

Someone with strong knowledge of Bowstring

bigeyes

I have been opening on Bowstring for about 10 years now, it is an exceptional lake in many way and one of my very favorites, but I have 1 question has always burned. Why does this lake not produce large walleye? it has great numbers of smaller eyes and plenty of baitfish in perch? My group and I have never seen a eye bigger than 6.5 pounds come out of that lake and we have caught several hundred and probably seen over a thousand caught over the years? I have heard they are all netted out at the river??? Also talked to other oldtimers that say they do not exist in that lake? Is this the case? Seems like there are soooo many good 3-4lb spawners in the lake?

Thanks

weekendjunkie

to me there are two factors that effect the size of eye' s on bowstring. First is that there is such an abundance of small northern and other preditor fish that the fish become stunted as a result. question to you what is the biggest northern you have caught? mine is 10 1/2 but was nearly forty inches! secondary is the netting... i feel that bowstring would be greatly helped if there was a l;imit of 6 northern imposed on the lake. thin out the snakes and the walleye will grow larger.

snowfighter